top of page

Gearing up to Go!


After weeks of visa application-induced nightmares, I’ve gotten my passport back, visa attached. I’ve made a list and am slowly checking one thing off at a time. I’ve bought my plane tickets and filled out all of my required Spanish Studies Abroad pre-departure forms. Now comes the hard part- waiting!

As my date of departure draws closer, I grow more excited and more anxious. My school, Susquehanna University, requires that each student has a cross-cultural experience to graduate. My first reaction was to opt for a shorter trip. I’ve never been out of the country longer than a month, and I wasn’t sure that I’d want to leave my school for a whole semester.

Then, as the decision-making process became more serious, I decided it would be silly to pass up the opportunity to spend a semester in another country. Who knew when I would have another opportunity like this? I know I’m lucky to be able to do this, but I can’t help being a bit nervous.

I’m worried about being able to communicate in Spanish. I’ve been taking classes since fifth grade, but I wish I had signed up for a summer class to keep in practice. I keep remembering horror stories that past Spanish teachers have told me about mistakes they made with the language while studying abroad. I’m just hoping that I don’t offend anyone. For someone with the tendency to be shy, the thought alone of future interactions with native Spanish speakers brings a flush of heat to my face.

I’m also way more nervous for the flight than I thought I would be. I’ve never flown alone before- or navigated through an airport on my own. And then to navigate a whole new city? I’m sure I’ll spend a chunk of time being lost, but I hear that’s when you stumble upon the best sights and learning experiences.

There’s a Marcel Proust quote, where I got the name for my blog, that goes, “The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes.” I know these new eyes represent the importance and value of cross-cultural experiences. I can’t wait to discover a new perspective on culture and life, even though I know the learning process may not always be a smooth one. As of tomorrow, I will be departing in two short months! I can’t wait to meet my host family, to attend my classes, and to travel around the country (and maybe even around Europe!)

bottom of page